Award winners 2021

Award winners 2021

18 Feb 22

Some highlights of the racing and non-racing awards to note are:

  • The achievement of the Gopoulos family in monopolising the TT league, with Claire particularly successful
  • Emily Chilton’s success in winning not only the Women’s class in the hillclimb but the event overall  -  a result which bagged her the inaugural Audrey Plumb award for women’s competition but also the Rudkin Trophy for the year’s Outstanding Performance.
  • Peter Walton yet again stamping his authority on long-distance riding  -  his total of 4,215Km of Audax bringing him the Centenary Trophy which he has now won every year since 2012!
  • A brace of awards for Tony Dos Santos  -  the Club Runs Cup for the greatest number of club runs in the year, ahead of Peter Walton by the narrowest of margins, and the Pat Player Trophy for the greatest contribution to the club by volunteering during the year.

Well done to all of them.  Other wins were also recorded by Sam Ball, Andy Lewis, Barry Page and Gareth Wignall. Full details below.

Racing Award Winners for 2021

‘10’ League:

2 events cancelled as no entries.  Maximum aggregate possible - 80 pts

Scratch: 1st Yiannis Gopoulos 68, 2nd Claire Gopoulos 63, 3rd Peter Walton 36
Ladies: 1st Claire Gopoulos 80
Handicap: 1st Claire Gopoulos 77, 2nd Yiannis Gopoulos 52, 3rd Peter Walton 34
Vet on Standard: 1st Claire Gopoulos 78, 2nd Peter Walton 41, 3rd Graeme Hill 29

Restricted 72” gear ‘10’

Not contested (due to Covid restrictions)

Restricted 81” gear ‘10’

Sam Ball 26.38

Hill Climb

Men: Barry Page 3.37
Ladies: Emily Chilton (also fastest overall 3.25)*

Old Skool ‘10’

Sam Ball 27.30

Scrubbers ‘10’

Andy Lewis 28.4

Fastest ‘10

Gareth Wignall 23.17

Outstanding Performance (Rudkin Trophy)

Emily Chilton for her fastest overall in club Hill Climb

Audrey Plumb Memorial Trophy (best competitive result by a woman)

Emily Chilton for her overall fastest hill climb

Club Standard T.T. certificates achieved in 2021

10 miles Silver (24 mins.) Yiannis Gopoulos and Gareth Wignall
10 miles Bronze (26 mins. 15 sec.) Sam Ball, Claire Gopoulos, Graeme Hill, Hanif Jetha

Non-Racing Club Awards for 2021

Pat Player Trophy (For the greatest contribution to club in volunteering )

Tony Dos Santos for his enthusiastic welcoming role as Mem. Sec,
organising runs, often leading large numbers of new members who joined during the pandemic.

Centenary Trophy (best aggregate of recognised non-racing events, each 50 km or more)

Peter Walton 4,215 km

The Club Runs Cup

This was intended to run from November 2020 to December 2021 inclusive, extra months being added to align the competition year with the calendar year. However COVID intervened sothere were just 39 weeks with Sunday club runs, ie. max. 78 points.

Tony Dos Santos 70 pts

* Emily rides competitively for Saint Piran Pro Cycling. Consequently she is not eligible under our rules for any of our racing awards.